memorykeepersisters

“A moment lasts all of a second, but the memory lives on forever.”

24 April 26, 2011

Filed under: Easter,Jodie,Tradition — memorykeepersisters @ 1:19 pm

That’s how many years I have been going to Bryce’s Cafeteria for Easter dinner with my family. My brother, Jamie, has eaten there for 28 years, and my sister, well I will spare her and just say she has eaten there for 30 years.

I would like to say that this is a Fairchild family tradition but really it started with my mother’s family, the Rogers. When she was little, they would go downtown (way back when it was located in downtown Texarkana, AR) and stand in line for the deliciousness that is Bryce’s.

Their menu is typical southern cuisine, fried chicken, mashed potatoes and some of the best creamed corn you will ever have in your life. Also, there is a chocolate pecan pie there that will make you weep after the first bite. (Don’t believe me? Just go try it!)

As a child, Easter meant getting up and getting dressed in some frilly dress that my mother picked out and going to church. During the sermon I would get anxious, watching the clock to strike twelve noon. Every year our family would shoot like a bullet out of church and be on our way to Texarkana to meet our Granny for dinner. Depending on the timing, you might stand in line for an hour; if you get there too late you might be in line for longer. You see, it isn’t just our family tradition, there’s a community of people in the tri-state area that make their way down to Bryce’s (I’m telling you, it’s that good!)

When I was little I couldn’t carry my tray, and that’s where Mr. Leo came in. You see, he and the other wait staff there have worked there for years. Mr. Leo has been working at Bryce’s for at least 24 and he carried my tray for at least 12. (after checking out their website, I can say that Mr. Leo has worked there 51 years!!)  There are always friendly faces that you recognize; in a sense it’s like coming home.

Check out their website and plan a trip, it’s worth it!

 

One Response to “24”

  1. curiositykilledthequiche Says:

    I’m ready to go to Bryce’s now please!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

