memorykeepersisters

“A moment lasts all of a second, but the memory lives on forever.”

Worrywart May 26, 2011

Filed under: Disaster Relief,Jodie,Uncategorized — memorykeepersisters @ 1:56 pm

I have a confession…..I’m a worry wart, and on top of that I’m a planner.

When I watch the news lately I feel my worry bone start to itch.  The amount of bad weather we have had recently is staggering. Tornadoes have leveled towns and storms have wreaked havoc across the nation, not to mention the terrible earthquakes that have happened around the rest of the world.

Devastation in Joplin, MO

Incidents like that get this girl thinking. What would I do if something like that happened to me or my family?  I have family that lives an hour away, an hour and a half away, and over two hours away. What would we do if a natural disaster hit? That’s when the “planner” in me starts to come out.  “If bad weather happens in Hope, Big Sister can go check on dad. If bad weather happens in Hot Springs I will go check on Bubser and Bran Ran.” But of course, I was gently reminded by Big Sister that you can’t “plan” for things like that. If devastation occurs you have to pick yourself up and start over.

Well this particular girl is very thankful that my family has been safe through all of these storms but my heart genuinely goes out to those that have not been so fortunate. I can’t imagine what I would do if I were in that same situation but what I do know is this: I can help!

If you want to help those affected by the recent tornado in Joplin, MO please text “Joplin” to 80888 to donate $10 to the Salvation Army or “REDCROSS” to 90999 to donate $10 to the Red Cross disaster relief fund.  You should also check out Convoy of Hope, they are a great organization that provides disaster relief to those in need.

Also, if you are in the Little Rock area and want to help let me know! Old Navy on Chenal is accepting items to donate to Red Cross in Joplin, MO. You can help by donating the following items: water, Gatorade, formula, new underwear for adults & kids, diapers, socks, granola bars, individual snacks, chapstik, cat and dog food, batteries, hairbrushes, shampoo, body wash, razors, and plastic ware.

Lastly, you can donate to your local Red Cross by visiting their website.

” Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.” – Philippians 4:6

 

 

One Response to “Worrywart”

  1. Very inspirational article! I found you through the etsian newbie team. =D


Leave a Reply

